Blogger Recognition Tag

Hiatus Announcement: In the next two weeks, I’m not going to post or do anything else related to blogging, as I’m going to be super busy. (Frankly, 2017 so far has been packed with things I need to do.) When I come back, I’ll catch up on and continue reading all of your posts, as well as posting comments and writing on my blog. Actually, when I get back, I’m going to try and post twice a week, and have only one of those posts per week be a tag. That’s mainly what I’ve been posting lately, and while they’re fun, I’d like to have some other content as well. For those of you that I am beta-reading for, I will continue to read or start reading, once I get back.

Now, on to the Blogger Recognition Tag! (Award? Tag? I’ve seen it both ways and I’m not quite sure what to call it. I’ll stick with “tag” for the rest of the post, just so it doesn’t get confusing.)


Anna @ Swords and Quills nominated me for the Blogger Recognition Tag! Thank you, Anna! (She nominated me… in October. I know, I should’ve done it sooner.)

Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you
  2. Tell a little bit about how you started blogging
  3. Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers
  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers

My blogging story is not particularly interesting, honestly. Just sort of long.

I had wanted to have a blog for a while, since I loved the idea. When I was ten (or somewhere around there) I made a Weebly blog with the help of my mom, though I never really got into the habit of updating regularly. It was a private blog, mainly for me and my family. In the course of the next few years, I made various other blogs that I then abandoned. I think part of the issue was that I had no audience, so I let my poor blogs be all by themselves much more than I would have otherwise. Eventually, about a year ago (when I had been blogless for a little while) I was reading some of the blogs of some of my friends from the NaNoWriMo YWP website, and I realized that I could make a blog, too. Not only that, but I could follow their blogs, comment on posts, and have an audience for my own blog. I promptly made a previous rendition of this one, although I sort of let it die away, because the difficulties at the beginning of last year took up time and heart. As a result, I didn’t even particularly want to blog.

Well, this fall, I was feeling like blogging again. But my previous blog felt sad, because it made me think of the beginning of 2016. Because of that and a few other technical reasons, I created an entirely new blog that looked exactly the same and had exactly the same name. It sounds sort of pointless, but it definitely helped. That blog is the blog that I’m using now. This has been an amazing experience, and though I haven’t been blogging like this for very long, I love it.

My two pieces of advice are:

  1. Don’t stress. If you can’t write great posts seven days a week, that is seriously not an issue. Write only two a week, one a week, or even just post one or twice a month. If blogging is stressing you out, there’s always a way to get rid of that stress and make it fun again. Blogging is supposed to be fun, after all!
  2. Schedules are amazing. I’m not a particularly organized blogger, and I never post as much as I intend to; that’s okay. But even so, I have a schedule thingy/brainstorming sheet with post ideas, and I’m not able to survive without it. It’s possibly the best idea I’ve had since I started blogging.

I tag everyone who reads this who has not done the Blogger Recognition Tag, since all of y’all (say “all of y’all” five times fast, it’s fun) were much quicker at doing this when you were tagged, and I’ve forgotten who has and who hasn’t done it. If you do it, though, please tell me or put a link in the comments!


How long have you been blogging? Do you have a schedule thingy? (I really don’t know what to call mine, since it’s both a schedule and a brainstorming sheet.) Has January been insanely busy for you, too?

3 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Tag

    1. Aww, thank you!!! (I love yours too!!) I definitely won’t quit, don’t worry! I’m just taking a short hiatus before coming back, and even in the future, I highly doubt I’ll abandon this one. There’s no reason why I would, since I really enjoy doing this. (And I have readers, as well as blogs I want to read, neither of which I had before–it makes a huuuge difference.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

