Sunshine Blogger Award, Part I

Hello, everyone! Yes, I’ve been iffy with posting for a while. But yes, I have legitimate excuses. First of all, my laptop crashed. Secondly, I’ve been making soap. (It’s easier than you think, and really fun! I may have to post a tutorial at some point, once I get a better thingamajig to take photos with.)

Kate Marie @ Story and Dark Chocolate nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award! Thank you, Kate! (Part II will be coming later, since Kenzie @ Smudged Thoughts also nominated me. Thanks, Kenzie!)

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who tagged you
  2. Answer their 11 questions
  3. Tag 11 people
  4. Give them 11 questions to answer

Well, shall we begin?


1. If you had to choose one song to be your “anthem” what would it be?

“The World Will Know” from Newsies! (Go listen to it. Then listen to the rest of the musical. I command you!) It’s energizing and fun to sing, and though I’m not exactly on a strike, I think it’s pretty applicable in some ways…

2. What is one book you will never read again and why?

Chasing Vermeer. Apparently, Chasing Vermeer is a highly acclaimed middle-grade book. Some years ago, someone strongly recommended it and gave me a copy. I’d read other books by the same author, and I hadn’t had any problem with them, even though they weren’t amazing.

**SPOILER WARNING**

But with this one, right from the start, I felt that something was off. I strongly disliked the writing style, and I didn’t relate to the characters at all. It’s basically about two kids who solve a mystery about the theft of a painting, and 4/5 of the book has them analyzing things and acting like detectives. However, at the end, another painting magically tells them how to find the missing painting. (I had already given up reading before that happened, but I went back and finished the book later. I don’t remember exactly what it was the painting said.)

So… no. You just don’t do that. I wasn’t really writing yet when I read that book, and even I could tell the author that it violates some sort of unwritten code to write a mystery book that is as detailed and analytical as that one, and then have the mystery be solved by magic. I thought this took place in the present day, with no mention of magic before that painting started talking??

**SPOILERS OVER**

3. What is one book you reread over and over again and why?

Rilla of Ingleside by L. M. Montgomery. Do you know how much I love Montgomery’s writing? If you didn’t, you do now. I am not going to stop talking about her in the future, either, so I hope you agree with me. 😛 Her descriptions are gorgeous, and I feel like she does a really good job at capturing humanity and turning it into characters on a page.

Anyway. Rilla of Ingleside, while not the only book that I often reread (I reread a LOT), is one of the main ones. It is the final book in the Anne of Green Gables series, and centers around Anne’s youngest daughter during WWI. She’s sort of a spoiled brat in the beginning, but she develops and improves a lot throughout the book.

4. If you could go anywhere, where would you go?

Either England, Finland, or PEI. I’ve been to England before, but it was so amazing that I’d love to go again. I’d want to go to Finland or PEI because they’re beautiful.

5. Do you have a favorite quote and what is it?

EVERYTHING from Winnie-the-Pooh. Those are the cutest and most fantastic books ever and have so many amazing quotes! (I may have to take a page out of Anna’s book and do a quote post, although it would only be Winnie-the-Pooh quotes.)

If I had to choose, though… I think I would pick this one:

“When you are a Bear of Very Little Brain, and you Think of Things, you find sometimes that a Thing which seemed very Thingish inside you is quite different when it gets out into the open and has other people looking at it.”

6. If you could meet any historical figure – living or dead – who would you choose to meet? And, for the sake of getting more diverse answers, let’s leave Jesus out of this, shall we?

I would say either Malala Yousafzai or Lucy Maud Montgomery. Because they’re both fantastic and amazing. Need I say more?

7. What is the first book you read on your own?

I have no clue… but A Little Princess was one of the first. (I had already read it with my mom, though.) When my mom and I were reading it, I cried over a book for the first time. I still don’t cry very much over books, but the ending of The Scorpio Races definitely made me tear up.

8. What is your fondest memory?

This isn’t my only fond memory, and I don’t know if it will always qualify as my “fondest,” but my grandfather passed away last winter, after a long period of sickness. (That’s not the memory, don’t worry.) He was in the hospital a while before it happened, and my family visited him multiple times during that period. One of those times, on my last visit to him and soon after Christmas, I sat in his hospital room for a few hours and just knitted the whole time, while my mom and her brother sat with him and occasionally chatted. It was lovely and pleasant, and I’m so glad I went that time.

9. Who are your heroes?

This list does not include everyone (and there are a lot of M’s?) but some of them are:

  1. My mother
  2. My father
  3. My grandparents (on both sides)
  4. Malala Yousafzai (she’s so so so amazing! And she has a cochlear implant!)
  5. L. M. Montgomery
  6. Lin-Manuel Miranda

10. What character from literature are you most like?

Miss Havisham from Great Expectations.

I don’t know, actually… *sneaks into the next question*

11. What would you do if the Zombie Apocalypse happened tomorrow?

I’d think it was a nightmare. Then I’d hide in my room forever. That is, after stocking up on food, books, more food, weapons, more weapons, making all of my loved ones join me, reinforcing the barriers and protection, and…

Actually, you know what? Zombies are slow. Like, really slow. So slow that if people kept their heads straight before freaking out, the zombies could probably all be caught and… well, killing them is sort of cruel. And keeping them in a lab is unethical and riskier– but since I’m not the government, I don’t need to puzzle over that. I’d just act normal but much more alert, I think, and educate myself on the signs that someone is a zombie. I’d also always, always lock all of the doors.


That’s it! I’m tagging:

  1. Morgan @ Studies in Character
  2. Fin @ Spiel
  3. Lana @ The Music of Words
  4. Astro @ The Language of Dreamers
  5. Katie @ Speckled Constellations
  6. Solaice @ Oh Solace
  7. queenmelaniemerker @ Inky Constellations
  8. Elizabeth and Clare @ Lily
  9. Hannah @ Utterly Write
  10. Sarah Briel @ Penumbra Reviews
  11. Kellyn Roth @ Reveries

And… that’s 11. *collapses*

Questions for Tagged People:

  1. Do you have a pet? If so, describe them.
  2. What’s your favorite type of tree?
  3. What’s your favorite genre to read?
  4. What’s your favorite genre to write?
  5. If you write, do you prefer to compose on paper or a computer?
  6. How long have you been blogging?
  7. Is it snowing, as you answer this?
  8. What’s your favorite type of music?
  9. Do you knit or crochet?
  10. What is a very popular/highly acclaimed book or movie that you just couldn’t like?
  11. Have you ever had Turkish Delight? (I haven’t, sadly…)

Again, thanks for tagging me, Kate! Anyone who I didn’t tag and who wants to do this is absolutely and entirely welcome to do it as well, if they want.

Since I’m traveling over my winter break, I’m not going to post on Christmas Eve, and I probably will not post on the 27th. Either way, I hope that all of you have a wonderful Christmas, if you celebrate it, and a wonderful week, if you don’t!

34 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award, Part I

  1. This article is great- I loved reading all those facts about you!! Oh my goodness, Winnie the Pooh quotes, I LOVE them!! Especially the one which seems to be fitting with me at the moment: ‘I’m so tired my tired is tired’! And THANK YOU SO MUCH for nominating me, I can’t wait to do that article!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. OH MY WORD, L.M. MONTGOMERY!!!! AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!! I LOVE her books! I’ve actually never finished the Anne Of Green Gables series, which I’m actually rather upset with myself for, because THOSE BOOKS ARE AMAZING. And now I am going to go add that to my TBR pile…

    And I absolutely ADORE Winnie the Pooh!!! He’s so adorable and sweet, and just AWWWWW!!!

    And awww…. Your memory makes me feel happy but really sad at the same time… 😦 But still, that’s awesome that you have a really good memory of your grandpa!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SHE IS SO ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC AND AHHHH YES I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE HER TOO!!! You really should finish them, because YES THEY ARE. -adds them to your TBR if you haven’t yet-

      He is so adorable!! Have you seen the Russian cartoon version? (With English captions, of course.) It’s really funny and cute!

      Thank you… some memories are like that. I have some other similar and lovely ones from that winter, too. I did a google search because I was blanking on the right word, and bittersweet is one fits really well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oooh! Thank you! I kind of forgot to add them, hahaha! Oh well, 2017 reading list, right???

        I actually have not seen those! I should look them up, though!

        And bittersweet fits most perfectly. I actually rarely use that word, but it really does describe the feeling better than anything… I should use it more often.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Right! That’s where all of the books I forgot to read this year are going. I don’t know if they’ll all get read, though…

        If you do search it, “russian winnie the pooh” should pull it up as the first result. It’s in Russian, but there are English subtitles.

        Me too. It’s a really pretty word.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I have a LOT I want to read this year, but it’s mostly the classics, like Pride and Prejudice, practically every other book by Jane Austen, The Lord of The Rings, The Hobbit (which would be a re-read, but still) etc.

        Ooh! Okay!!! I completely forgot to search it, as I’ve not been on here lately. (I am a terrible bean, I know…)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you like it! To get the snow (it only lasts till January 4th, sadly) you go to the “My Site” statistics page and then go to “Settings,” which is a little lower down on the sidebar. Right below the language and timezone settings is a little button that you can press to activate the snow.

      Like

  3. Malala is amazing. I heard about her early last year, and now whenever I see something about her pop up I stop everything I’m doing to go and read it. I haven’t read her Memoir though, for whatever reason. Not quite sure why.

    Great answers, and thanks for stopping by Writing on a Vintage Typewriter!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Goodness, it has taken me FOREVER to comment on this! I read it ages ago, but was feeling too lazy, because my comments are inevitably humongous beings of the darkness…

    I might as well number this for convenience… Prepare to be here for awhile…

    1. Loved Watch What Happens, per your recommendation! I have yet to listen to the rest of it yet, though… *guilty glances*

    2. Agreed. I read a book that did the VERY SAME THING and I was disgusted!

    3. Yas! Rilla is my second favorite… The first will always be my favorite! 🙂

    4. Forgive my ignorance, but what is PEI…… Literally as I was writing that it hit me! Prince Edward Island, yes?????

    8. Sorry! Difficult question, I know! Awwwww, but that is sooooo sweet! *melts*

    9. Definitely some kind of conspiracy, all those M’s…..

    10. I am officially scared of you. 🙂

    11. Agh, you are very wise!

    Fantastic job, dear! I loved reading this! Tags always help me feel like I’ve gotten to know the person better. 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s okay! I know exactly what you mean–right now I have like ten blog posts that I need to comment on that I’ve been putting off… hopefully I’ll do all that today. *crosses fingers*

      1. YESSS I’M GLAD

      3. The first one is great, too. I think it’s my favorite after Rilla, but I love them all, so it’s pretty hard to decide…

      4. Correct!

      9. Right???

      10. All she does is sit in an old gown in her room in the exact same position for years! With candles and half-off shoes and a veil, of course. (Although she is rather creepy. Especially her house… and no, I’m of course not wearing a nightgown and sitting in my room next to a[n unlit] candle and with only one slipper on, why do you ask??)

      Thank you! Yes, that’s very true. 🙂

      Like

      1. OH MY GOODNESS, SHE IS TERRIFYING (and therefore you also???)

        Bahahahahah – your description of you (not being) Miss Havisham, though!!! *possibly dies laughing*

        Also I like your new header – very cute!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

