NaNoWriMo 2016 Week Two

Hey guys! How’s NaNo going, if you’re doing it?

For me, well:

Word count goal: 50,000
Total words written: 13,006
Words left: 36,995

So… remember me being behind last week? I pretty much caught up on Tuesday night, and my cold fingers didn’t prevent me from feverishly typing 3k in a little over two hours, which I’m pretty proud of. It was one of the only things that prevented me from going mad while the election results were being counted. (For the record, I am extremely unhappy with the results. However, I’d prefer any commenters to stay away from discussing them, simply because politics can get very easily heated and I would like to keep that kind of tension off my blog.)

Anyway. I got to 13k words that night, but I haven’t been able to write a single blessed word since. I’m pretty sure that it’s the election that gave me writer’s block (possibly the worst I’ve ever had) so I’m not happy about that, either.

I intended to write some 3k today, to try and make headway on the 7k that I’m behind on, but I can’t do it. As a result, I’m doing my best to be productive school-worky-wise, and tomorrow all I will do is write. Yes, yes, I know. I’m procrastinating and making it worse.

So as not to end on a somewhat depressing note, my weird sentence of the week is:

“Once you’re drowning knee-deep in homework and studying, you won’t feel quite the same,” warned Todor.

No, Todor, drowning in homework and knee-deep in homework are both acceptable. But “drowning knee-deep”?? (I turned it into a discussion between my characters about that phrase, so yay for adding words but maybe not-so-yay for something that probably isn’t going to be in any final drafts.)


Again, I hope you have a great week, people! And if you’re unhappy about the election results, have some molasses cookies. Anyone who’s uncertain about what they think, here you go. And since cookies are good and everyone deserves them, even those with whom I disagree politically, I guess that huge platter over there is really for anyone at all and everyone at once.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 Week Two

  1. Jeez, 3k in 2 hours! I can’t even stay concentrated on one task for that long- let alone write 3k! Haha, some of my sentences I swear aren’t even in English… Great blog post, and good luck with catching up! Ooh- cookies *Grabs handfuls and stuffs face*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to do that many words that quickly again, but I caught up! (…only to fall behind again. Ergh.)
      Oh, I totally know what you mean. My brain seems to have forgotten what a proper sentence should have in it, and I’m cringing every time I need to write a paper for school. Hopefully my NaNo instincts aren’t ruining them, yikes.

      *brings more cookies* It is scientifically proven that cookies are an essential ingredient in healthy diets, especially if you write. Have as many as you like!

      Like

Leave a Reply

