NaNoWriMo 2016 Week One

Hello, everyone! If you’re doing NaNoWriMo,  how’s it going? If you’re not, then how’s life in general?

So far, I think I’ve been doing pretty good. I mean, I did sort of not write anything for the past two days, but today I’ve written 1,357 words–and counting, since I’ll continue after this post. I’m going to try and get to 10,000 words by tomorrow night, and while I don’t know if it’s possible, I do want to get back on track. I do NOT want the same thing to happen as last NaNo, in which I was just a little behind all month.

Word count goal: 50,000
Total words written: 5,364
Words left: 44,636

(Yep, I decided on the 50,000 word goal instead of the 30,000 word one.)

This would have been about it, but Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and  Further In are doing the Beautiful Books tag for this month, which I completely forgot about. So I’ll answer those questions, as well:

Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

I think I’m pretty good. My novel seems pretty good. I’m a little more introverted than usual this month so far, and my novel seems to be written in a passive sort of descriptive style that is not like my usual writing. Other than that, though, we’re good.

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Dust blew across the paved street.

I had no clue where to begin and just went for it, placing my MC in the middle of the road and starting. It worked.

Who’s your current favorite character in your novel?

Todor. What can I say, I love Todor. She’s so sweet and nice but not too sweet and nice and while I don’t think she’s opened up to me that much yet, I do think that she will soon.

What do you love about your novel so far?

…well, I haven’t gotten to what I’m mainly looking forward to yet. I don’t really have a favorite has-been-written aspect so far.

Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

I was typing away, looked up, and saw this sentence on the screen: The thoughts moving from her mind to her pen always bled like a freshly butchered goat.

I have no clue how it got into Amala’s mind (other than the fact that her family raises goats) or even how realistic it is, because honestly, I know very little about goats. And way less than that about butchering them.

But what type of analogy even is that?!

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

Middle. Partially because I’ve never gotten to a novel’s end, and partially because I find it easier to move things along once the plot gets going.

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

I’ve been eating a lot of Halloween candy. We had very few trick-or-treaters come this year, and there was a huge bowl left over. I have also been relying on that amazing drink called tea. As for music, I don’t listen to it while writing, though I do while plotting. I can just focus better that way. (Even so, I do have a playlist that I prepared.)

I always write at my desk in my bedroom. It’s a really small room, but since I have a loft bed with a desk underneath, it’s pretty cozy. I’ve gotten into the habit of opening the drawers of my dresser with my feet and putting my feet inside, for some reason. I also only have a small desk light on when I write. My main light is too bright, and I’m a creature of the darkness. (Which is why I’m not going to show a photo–it would be dark and grainy and hard to see.) It doesn’t feel that dark to me, but it is according to my family.

I write best in the early morning or late evening, so pretty much when it’s dark or dim outside. I don’t know why.

How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, Batman)?

I do have a friend in real life who is also doing it, so we chat about our progress, but mostly it’s just me. Typing away at my keyboard, in the dark.

What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

That what I want to complete won’t get finished unless I do it. It doesn’t sound particularly special, but it helps me. So far, my only obstacles have been life, not myself. I hope writer’s block continues to keep a low profile. (It popped up for about an hour today, but then it disappeared again.)

What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

Eep, I don’t know. In general, I guess these:

  1. If you want to write it, write it. It won’t magically appear in front of you if you procrastinate. (Note: Being busy with schoolwork and other things like that do not count as procrastinating.) Even if your project seems really crappy, keep going. Time and effort will help enormously.
  2. That said, if you hate your project or if writing is extremely stressing you out, take a break. We all need them eventually. If you come back from your break and it’s no better, stick your current project on the back burner for the time being and find something else.
  3. Don’t scorn things that a lot of other people use and find helpful that you haven’t tried. I’m not saying that you should give in to peer pressure or that what works for others should work for you. I am saying, however, that I turned my nose up at using Pinterest (to help plan your novel) for the longest time, but finally gave it a little try and found that it was amazing.

See you all next week, and I hope you have a wonderful time meanwhile!

15 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 Week One

  1. High fives to writing in the dark!! My family is always telling me that it is too dark in my writing space, but to me it is just perfect. 😉 And high fives to trying to catch up to 10,000 words by tonight. I am currently at 7064. (yeah, yeah, I know I shouldn’t be on here right now. I should be writing…)
    I know isn’t Pinterest the best for novel planning! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *is in her room, in the dark, and writing* Exactly.

      I got to 9000! I think I’ll be able to catch up by tomorrow or Tuesday. I hope you get to it soon, too! 😀

      Pinterest is amazing and amazingly helpful. I’ve been using my novel board so much since I started.

      Like

  2. That analogy is the best analogy in the entire universe, and you BETTER NOT DELETE IT!!! Please????

    This blog post is awesome! Your beginning sentence is honestly beautiful. I love the length too. I usually try to go for super looooooong info-dumping first lines, but seriously, I love how you were able to build an entire setting (for me at least) in six words. Beautiful.

    Ah yes. Darkness. The dark is where us writer-folk prefer to spend our time. It is easy on our screen-ruined eyes. Or notebook ruined????

    Either way, I love this post!!! Keep up the awesome work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I seem to be getting pretty positive feedback on it from everyone I’ve mentioned that sentence to, so okay, I won’t! XD I may… adjust the location of it so that it doesn’t just pop up in the middle of some random thoughts in an unrelated conversation, though. It’s a bit violent for my MC’s personality.
      Thank you!! And I’m so glad that you like my opening sentence.
      Darkness brings out my writerlyness (that is definitely a word, spellcheck, what are you talking about) for some reason, which is nice. But not so nice when it’s really bright and the middle of the day and my room just WON’T be dark when I want it to be.

      I sound like a vampire. Eek, Kit.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay!!!! Ooh! I can understand that! Sometimes I write something, stare at if for a moment and think, “Nope. That’s not where you go…” But I want to keep it, it just doesn’t belong right THERE. It’s kind of like a really pretty weed; you want it somewhere, but not inside your flower bed.

        Haha! Writers actually are like vampires in a lot of ways… Do you go to the NaNo Forums?? There’s this forum about Memes That Describe Your Feelings of Your Novel, and someone posted this awesome Twilight meme about being a writer. It was HILARIOUS!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is a completely fantastic analogy! *now has the odd temptation of making a “Dandelion Bed” sidebar thing full of weird NaNo sentences but is not sure*

        Are you talking about the YWP or the adult NaNo forums? I’m on both, but I usually only post on the YWP forums. (I haven’t seen it there, so I’m guessing it’s on the adult site.)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ooh!!! You should TOTALLY do it!!! That’d be fantastic!!!

        And yes, it’s on the adult site! I’ve heard of the YWP, but I never did it because the first time I did NaNo was last year, and I hadn’t heard of the YWP, so I just immediately decided to jump into the whole 50k enchilada for some reason. I think I probably should have started with the YWP, seeing as though I’m pretty sure I fit into the age group…

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Okay!! I’ll see if I can get it up today. Maybe! Possibly. *glares at schoolwork*
        Ooh, I’ll go check it out, then!
        I probably would not have survived writing 50k my first year, as 30k was almost too much. (I mean, I sort of jumped onto the NaNoWriMo bandwagon without literally ANY plan and not having written for like six months… not recommended, eep.)

        Like

      5. Sadly, I didn’t get it up, partially because of busyness, and partially because of the lack of any other fitting sentences. There are plenty of slightly nonsensical sentences, but the “butchered goat” one is the only non-nonsense one that’s just misfitting. (I did make the graphic, though!)

        *gives cookies to you for your determination*

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The thing with Amala is that she’s not at all supposed to be creepy or terrifying, and that’s the only instance in which she for some reason was. 😛 I may move it to a different project if I have a more fitting one at any point.
      Good luck, and you can do it!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

