Planning For NaNo

Last year, I decided what I was going to write for NaNoWriMo two days before it started. I had no planning, prep, or worldbuilding done. That was a big mistake, but it was my first NaNo, so instead of wondering why my (only slightly) younger self was so unintentionally stupid, I’m going to learn from it. Which means I’m going to plan and plot and everything as much as possible. I don’t know how much I’ll get done, since I hardly wrote this summer and I had intended to be extremely productive, but we’ll see how it goes.

I don’t think that there’s anything else I needed or used last year, other than my laptop and the occasional pencil and paper. Water is a really good idea, but generally eating or drinking while I’m writing slows me down. I do recall eating an unusual amount of clementines and drinking an unusual amount of milk (not together, of course) but I don’t think that had anything to do with NaNo. So this year, like last, I’m just going to be simple and not have an extensive survival plan. Having those aren’t bad, of course, but it’s just not for me.

During November, I’m only going to post four or five times, unless a) I’m doing much better than expected, or b) I’m doing much worse than expected. The four posts that I do post will be put up at the end of each week, to help me keep track of how I’m doing and my progress. As of now, I’m just calling them “NaNoWriMo Week One” and so forth.

I don’t know whether I’m going to try to write 30,000 words, 40,000, or 50,000. I would like to do 50,000, but I don’t know whether that’s at all realistic. 30,000 is probably more achievable. I could compromise with my writerly and my practical side and do 40,000, but more likely I will set my goal as 30,000 and try to hit 50,000. I think. Maybe.

I’m going to try to worldbuild for 45 minutes a day during October to prepare myself for NaNo more properly, since without a schedule I’ll end up doing nothing. I may not end up doing the whole 23 1/4 hours, but hopefully I’ll do something more than I otherwise would have. NaNo being offline may boost my productivity–at least, I hope so.

If you don’t know what I’m working on, it’s (going to be) a novel about a sort of political rebellion. I have no clue why I’m writing it, but the idea has stuck, so I am. I’ll just need to do lots and lots and lots of research on political things. *cue sighing* I’ll put up a post before November that talks about it in more detail!

One thought on “Planning For NaNo

Leave a Reply

