Zucchini Bread Recipe

This is my grandmother’s recipe for zucchini bread. I don’t know where she got it, but I had some while I was visiting her this summer and liked it a lot. She has a book that’s sort of like a scrapbook where she keeps a bunch of cut out and handwritten recipes, and this was in there. I copied it down to bring home, and because I felt like baking today, I made it. It’s a quick bread recipe, so there’s no yeast or need to let the dough rise before baking. If you haven’t made quick breads before, they’re easier than normal breads, and there are lots of good recipes out there. Like this one.

So, ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 2 cups grated zucchini (no seeds)
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 or 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/8 teaspoon cloves
  • one cup of walnuts (optional, I didn’t use any today)

I know. It’s a lot of spices.

Using an electric mixer is definitely the easiest, but I suppose you could do this by hand. It’s just a lot of mixing. So the electric mixer is really recommended. (And don’t forget to preheat the oven 350 degrees if you make this! I’ve forgotten to do it before, and it hardly ever ends well.)

withtexttwo
Whoops, I misspelled “zucchini.”

Instructions:

Grate two cups of zucchini. This would probably take 2 to 4 zucchinis. You can leave the skin on, you just need to wash it. If the grated zucchini is wet, don’t worry, that’s normal.

withtext

Beat the eggs well. Blend the sugar, vanilla, applesauce, and oil, and add them to the eggs. After that, stir in the grated zucchini, the flour, and all the spices. After it’s all well mixed, fold in the cup of walnuts if you are including them. If you’re using an electric mixer, make sure that the zucchini isn’t clumping up on the stirring thingy. Mixing thingy. Whatever you call it.

withtexttoo

In my case, I also accidentally turned the mixer on too high and sprayed flour everywhere.

Rub a stick of butter over your 9×5 inch loaf tin. The recipe says to use two loaf tins, but one would be better. If you end up with some extra, make a few muffins, too. I made two loaves as suggested, but they were rather small.

withtexto

Pour the mixture into two 9×5 inch tins and bake between 40 and 50 minutes in the the oven.

Done:withtextto

finaloneyippee

If you make this recipe, I hope it turns out well! Was this post understandable, and did the formatting work? Since it’s my first recipe post, I want to know to improve in the future. Also, sorry about any blurriness in the photos–my camera was nowhere to be found, so I used a phone.

3 thoughts on “Zucchini Bread Recipe

  1. The photos were very clear, and the post was certainly easy to follow! Very understandable and well formatted 🙂 I absolutely love baking, and I’ve been looking for new recipes to make, so thank you! I definitely will try this soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

